Society Names Its First Hall of Famers

Delving into the history of the baking industry, the American Society of Baking (ASB) selected some of the most well-known names of the past as its inductees Hall of Fame.
Among the bakers selected are Ninnie L. Baird and Family, Margaret Rudkin, Charles Lubin, William and Joseph Flowers, William Entenmann and Catherine T. Clark.
Russell Bundy and Harold H. Stewart were selected among the baking equipment manufacturers. C. J. Patterson and Ray Thelen are being honored for their efforts in the field of ingredient technology. For general contribution to the industry, the socieity recognizes Morton Sosland and Family, Ernst J. Pyler and William Edgar Long.
“The selection of these 13 individuals is a lasting tribute to their entrepreneurial spirit, innovation and innumerable contributions to the industry,” says Gary Brodsky, ASB chairman.  “We would like to congratulate all eighty-one nominees and thank all those individuals that supported their nomination process. Although not all were chosen, all nominees will remain in consideration for future years.”
 Through an arrangement with the American Institute of Baking (AIB), the Baking Hall of Fame will be incorporated as an interactive exhibit prominently displayed in AIB’s lobby entrance in Manhattan, Kan. The induction ceremony will be held on March 6 as part of the opening of BakingTech 2006 in Chicago. For more information, contact ASB at 866 920-9885.