Brown and Haley Pierson Clair and President John Melin

Newly promoted Brown & Haley executives Vice Chairman Pierson Clair, left, and President John Melin, during Candy Industry’s 2011 Kettle Awards reception. 

Two of Brown & Haley’s senior managers are being rewarded. Pierson Clair and John Melin will both be taking on new roles at the Tacoma, Wash.-based candy making company.

Clair will become vice chairman but retain his position as chief executive officer, while Melin will take over as president and continue his duties as chief operating officer. 

 “Pierson Clair has been responsible for the transformation of Brown & Haley and his promotion to vice chairman of the board reflects our conviction and confidence in his continued leadership,” says Anne Haley, chairperson of Brown& Haley.

Clair has led Brown & Haley for the past 17 years. In 2011 he received Candy Industry’s prestigious Kettle Award and was subsequently inducted into the Candy Hall of Fame the following year.

Melin has been with Brown & Haley for 11 years and has spearheaded many brand initiatives and operational improvements.

“We chose John because of his unwavering support and commitment to the ROCA brand as well as his organizational and leadership skills that are required to help lead our ever expanding company,” adds Haley. “John shares our commitment to provide the highest quality confection that will delight all of our consumers.”

Clair also points out that “With continued growth and brand expansion, there is no better person to help lead our company than John Melin. We are very excited about our future and our growth. We are confident that John will keep us innovating while staying focused on clear goals and objectives.”

Melin says he’s “…honored by the opportunity the board has extended to me,” and looks forward to the conmpany’s continued growth, brand extensions and success.

The new president has a strong record of business growth and performance improvement throughout his career. He earned an MA and MSc in Economics from Oxford University and a BSc in Engineering from the University of Saskatchewan.