After three-days of breath-taking competition between nineteen national Chocolate Masters, organized for the fifth time by Barry Callebaut, Davide Comaschi, winner of the Italian World Chocolate Masters preselection, was selected as the "World Chocolate Master 2013."


Marike Van Beurden from Netherlands took second place while Deniz Karaca from Australia came in third.

At this year's world finals, an international jury composed of twenty-three leading chocolate professionals, graded the chocolatiers, with the event taking place at the "Salon du Chocolat Professionnel" exhibition at Porte de Versailles in Paris (France).

With the theme of this year's competition being "The Architecture of Taste", the jury carefully evaluated the contestants' work and creativity through chocolate.  The jury was headed by Honorary President of Honour, Iginio Massari of Italian Relais Desserts and included Presidents Norman Love, well-known chocolatier from United States, Angelo Musa, Meilleur Ouvrier de France 2007 recipient and Sergio Herman, 3 stars Michelin Chef and Spécial President for this year’s final.

In addition to the overall winners, the jury gave special awards for "Best moulded praline", "Best dipped praline", "Best gastronomic chocolate dessert", "Best chocolate pastry" and "Best chocolate showpiece". As a highlight this year, additional awards have been granted for "Best Creation of the Architect of the world" and "International Press Award."

This year and for the second time, fans had the possibility to vote online for their favorite chocolate showpiece. The social media award— won by Canada in 2011 — celebrated Luis Robledo from Mexico who gathered an impressive number of likes on the world chocolate masters.

The overall winner was awarded the World Chocolate Masters 2013 trophy specially created by leading Dutch designer Rob Verhoeven, For additional information, visit

For additional pictures, please go to