The Wheat Foods Council (WFC), a nonprofit organization formed to increase public awareness of grains, complex carbohydrates and fiber as essential components of a healthful diet, announces its 2013-14 officers.

Erica Olson, a marketing specialist with the North Dakota Wheat Commission (NDWC), is the 2013-14 chair. Olson began working with the NDWC in 2006, handling promotion activities for foreign buyers, providing quality and supply and demand information to customers, providing statistical and market analysis and marketing information to producers and assisting with communication efforts.

“Erica will be a great leader for the Wheat Foods Council, and her strong marketing background will be an important asset in the coming year,” said WFC president Judi Adams. “The council will be continuing its focus on the dietitian community, while also expanding to incorporate extension agents and consumer affairs representatives in our public relations outreach.”

Cindy Falk, a nutrition educator for the Kansas Wheat Commission (KWC), is vice chair. She is responsible for KWC’s domestic marketing and nutrition education and is currently chair of the National Festival of Breads. Since 1993, Falk has served on the WFC executive board of directors and was chairperson in 2002-2003.

Don Brown, vice president of sales, ConAgra Mills, is secretary/treasurer. He is a member of multiple industry associations, including the North American Millers Association (NAMA), American Bakers Association (ABA) and National Association of Flour Distributors (NAFD) and was a founding trustee of the Grain Foods Foundation (GFF).

Brent Robertson of the Nebraska Wheat Board is immediate past chair. He is a member of the Nebraska Wheat Growers Association and Nebraska Farm Bureau.