IFT president Mary Ellen Camire and Dr. Stephen L. TaylorThe Institute of Food Technologists has presented its 2015 Nicolas Appert Award to Stephen L. Taylor, Ph.D., professor and co-director, Food Allergy Research & Resource Program, Department of Food Science & Technology, University of Nebraska. He received the award from IFT president Mary Ellen Camire on July 11 during IFT’s Awards Celebration at the Field Museum of Natural History in Chicago. The award—IFT’s highest honor—is given annually to an IFT member for preeminence in and contributions to the field of food science and technology, and includes a $5,000 honorarium and a plaque from IFT.

Taylor was recognized for his comprehensive investigative work on food allergens, including their detection, the determination of threshold doses, the implementation of risk assessment approaches, and effects of food processing on allergens and their detection.