BEMA elected new members to its executive committee and board of directors at its 2016 Annual Meeting. Allen Wright, Vice President, Hansaloy, was elected chairman of the board of directors. Wright began career in the baking industry with Hansaloy in 1995. He has been an active member of BEMA since 2002 and has served on the board of directors since 2008.  While on the board of directors, Wright served as the chair of the scholarship, international, & finance committees.

Allen Wright played a key role as a member of BEMA’s executive committee in developing the new educational offerings through BEMA-U, additions to BEMA’s meetings such as BEMA-Connect, and active management of BEMA’s finances and success at IBIE. 

“I want to work with BEMA’s board of directors, members, and staff to steward these programs well,” says Wright.  “We have put a number of new initiatives in place in recent years, and I want to make sure we invest the time and resources in these programs to insure their success and growth.”   

The membership elected the following executive committee:  Allen Wright (Hansaloy), Chairman; Don Osborne (Intralox), 1st Vice-Chairman; Paul Lattan (Sosland Publishing), 2nd Vice-Chairman; Mark Hotze (Corbion), 3rd Vice-Chairman and Terry Bartsch (Shaffer Manufacturing), Immediate Past Chairman.

Clay Miller, Sales Engineer,  Burford Corp. and Jay Hardy, Region VP, AB Mauri, were elected to their first term on BEMA’s board of directors.  Mike Gude, Publisher, Sosland Publishing joined the board as BEMA’s ABA liaison. 

BEMA’s current directors also include Tim Cook (Shick Solutions), Mike Day (Banner-Day), Rick Hoskins IV (Colborne Foodbotics), Darren Jackson (The Henry Group), Jim Kline (The EnSol Group), Patrice Painchaud (Rexfab Inc.), and Jim Warren (Reading Bakery Systems). Remaining on the board as BEMA’s representative on the IBIE Committee, and serving as the chairman for IBIE 2016, is Mike Cornelis (American Pan).