The best bakers from twelve nations will compete in a bake-off at the iba-UIBC-Cup of Bakers in Munich in order to win the gold medal and gain worldwide recognition. They will be facing a universal challenge in hall B3 of the world's leading trade fair for bakery, confectionery and snacks baking in show bakeries made out of glass, and also the verdict of a jury of experts. The award ceremony will be held on the Monday of the trade fair.

The countdown has started and there are only a couple weeks left until the start of the iba-UICB-CUP of Bakers. The respective associations have selected their candidates to participate in the international competition of bakers, and they are ready to go. Twelve nations are performing in teams of two at iba, taking place from September 15-20 on the trade fair grounds in Munich. Participating are the best bakers from China, Germany, France, Japan, Korea, the Netherlands, Norway, Peru, Russia, Spain, Turkey and the USA. "We are practicing very hard for this, it is a major event that I am very much looking forward to." says Daniel Plum who is competing for Germany together with Maximilian Raisch for the gold medal.

The iba-UIBC-Cup of Bakers takes place every three years and sets no limit to the creativity or the richness of ideas of the competitors: "Universe" is the theme of this year. In accordance with that, the participants make breads, cookies, party and Danish pastries as well as a baked showpiece. They will be given only a small amount of time for these challenging tasks. The competitions will take place Saturday, Sunday and Monday (September 15-17) at 9:30 am in the fully equipped show bakeries in hall B3. Every day, four teams will be facing each other. There will be a first evaluation in the iba-Forum by the jury at 1:00 pm and all baked goods will have to be finished by 4:00 pm. Then, the final judgment will take place. The visitors get the chance to experience the outstanding talent of the participants during the competition live. Suspense will be on the menu. The award ceremony will take place on Monday, September 17, 2018 at 5:30 pm.

Participants and countries (in alphabetical order):
China: Zhou Bin, Peng Fudong
Germany: Daniel Plum, Maximilian Raisch
France: Maelle Dominin, Matthieu Morvant
Japan: Kiyoshi Fukui, Kenta Ishii
Korea: Myeong-Kyeom Kim, Sung-Chul Lim
Netherlands: Michel Schröder, Hans Heiloo
Norway: Ivar Bakke, Nikolai Melingen
Peru: Renato Alonso Malquichagua Del Valle, Ysaac Rusbelt Montoya Herrera
Russia: Marina Arbuzova, Nikolai Kozhevnikov
Spain: Enric Badía Elías, Francisco Recio Moreno
Turkey: Muhammer Simsek, Abdullah Akkus
USA: Eddie Batten, Natasha Rasmussen

Relevant dates for the teams:
Saturday, September 15: Japan, Netherlands, Korea, Russia
Sunday, September 16: Norway, Peru, USA, France
Monday, September 17: Germany, Turkey, Spain, China

Further information at